Meeting The Phantom

 

Yay! I’d just learned tonight that The Phantom of the Opera will be having their series of runs in Manila!

 

 

Finally! It has always been a dream of mine to be able to relish again the story in a live theater.  It would be such a joy to see Christine, Raoul and Erik’s ( the phantom) story of  attraction, love, jealousy and conflict unfold right into my eyes.  To be swept by the emotions this play invoked when I first saw it on free television.

 

Nostalgia hit  me when I saw the news being delivered in a local channel tonight. Being born in an average Filipino family, I only get to enjoy the classics through books or its adaptations in the form of film. I vaguely remember during my high school days; a local network ran this story in their Monthly Saturday Special. I fail to remember though if the version that I watched back then was in a musical or film form.It used to run on late nights of Saturday and just for an hour with a lot of advertisements in between. Which means that the story has been  broken into four parts. I used to stay so late to finish the story and endure the admonition from my mother. All I can remember is the heady feeling I’ve had back then; I fell in love with the characters and their music, squirmed from their conflicts and shared their anguish.

 

It was because of this story that I fell in love with Opera. From then on I have learned of  “Cats”, “The West Side Story” ” Joseph the Dreamer” and so forth. And it has become an ultimate dream to be able to watch a live musical, but geography and finance deters me. I live far from the capital city: Manila. So I am far from the perks and benefits of the metro, thus, I just had to contend with the available resources that I could get hold of.

 

But, the play that will be starting August this year is definitely a must see! It would be a disappointment if I won’t be able to catch this one. I and my sister is willing to forego our planned trip that month just to see this.  My sister also is gaga with books and musicals ( my influence, I guess 😉 ) , that she immediately conveyed to cancel all our travel plans.

 

Jeez…… I just hope we really would be able to. Crossing our fingers *_*.

 

Here are some of the musical’s famous songs:

 

video credit: xmcrxangelx

 

video credit: cottonflake2

 

video credit: KathyGeinLecter

 

video credit: Sarahdizada

 

 

2012dwhimsicalmind. All Rights Reserved.

 

 

 

Leave a Comment