Jessica Sanchez : Will an Asian-Hispanic Be the Next Idol?

 

 

I am not a fan of Talent Shows anymore. I got the hang out of it since I’ve been seeing this kind of competition since I was a kid. I guess it has been a staple in every television network since time immemorial. So when there is a craze about a new program, I’d just check out the show if I can, but never really would follow the show till the last episode.

 

Recently though, almost every news channel here in our country would feature a petite lass belting out on American Idol. As usual whenever there is a talent shining abroad it would always create a certain buzz . Blame it on being territorial, but we Pinoys love to see our kindred making it in the international arena. We just love to show our support even if that person has only traces of being a Pinoy in his/her blood.

 

There were a number of times that Jessica Sanchez was featured in the entertainment news. It did not really piqued my interest, even after this video was shown:

 

video credit: thebigtinonetwork

 

My reaction was : ” Oh, Okay” , then shrugs my shoulder and went on with my activity. Don’t get me wrong, I do appreciate Jessica’s talent, she has one of the best voices I’ve ever heard. It’s just that I was already used to seeing singers belting this kind of songs. Here in our country, almost every chanteuse are singing this song, even little kids in any talent competition. Just like how Charice Pempengco started. If you had read Charice’s biography then you will know what I mean.

 

One day, I was my usual nonchalant self when the news featured Jessica. She was almost eliminated for having the lowest votes, and that she was saved by the judges for they believed in her talent. I got curious and immediately searched the song she sang in that episode and found out this:

 

video credit: Casey Carlson

 

Then I went: ” Hey, that was good!”  For me, she had displayed  different vocal range that kinda made me want to listen to her other song renditions.

 

video credit: Futojournalista

 

This is one of her latest performances:

 

video credit: sunnycastillo

 

Will she make it to the finals? Will she win the title as the next “American Idol”? Will an Asian looking talent make it in this competition? Hmmn… We don’t know it’s all up to the judges and the fans who will cast their votes. And with the support of her fellow “kababayans” and her talent let us wait and see.

 

 

2012 dwhimsicalmind All rights reserved.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Jessica Sanchez : Will an Asian-Hispanic Be the Next Idol?

  1. I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one these days..

Leave a Comment